

Attending Sons of American Revolution coremony were (from left, scated) Clark P. Wright, scoretary-treasurer: David H. Peterson, president: Capt. Gordon R. Rohinson, vice president: Barry R. Lussier, chaplain: tmiddle row) Col. James Wilson: Alfred E. Perthuis: James L. Guest, district 7 vice president. Texas Society: William Curty: Col. E.H. Kersting: C.D. McBee, historian: Edwin Pate and Keith Peters; (back) William Whitman.

Sons of Revolution reinstituted on isle

GALVESTON — On Dec. 8. 1896. the first chapter of the Texas Secrety, Sons of the American Revolution, was formed in Galveston.

Inactive for the past decade, this historic chapter was reinstituted in a ceremony conducted by Lt. Gen John C Wright, retired senior vice president, Texas Society, in Galveston recent by

A patriotic organization with membership open to men who trace their ancestry in a direct line to soldiers or patriots of the Revolutionary War. Sons of the American Revolution sponsors a scholarship program for Eagle Scouts, a scholarship program for high school students in oration competition, and an ROTC awards program which recognizes outstanding ROTC students with appropriate medals.

Newly elected officers of the group include Clark P. Wright, secretary-treasurer; David H. Peterson, president: Capt Gordon R. Robinson, vice president: and Barry R. Lussier, chaplain.