SOUTH CENTRAL DISTRICT OF THE SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING: OVERLAND PARK, KS, AUGUST 26-27, 2016

FRIDAY EVENING OVERVIEW:

A candidate forum was held at 4:30 -5:30 pm. This was followed by a SAR flag raising ceremony and flag certificate presentation by Les Magee (AR), SCD VPG. This was followed by a reception at 6:00 pm and a banquet at 7:00 pm. Les Magee (AR), VPG SCD, convened the meeting. The presentation of colors was led by SCD Color Guard Commander Frank Rohrbough (TX). The invocation was given by Kansas State Chaplain Vern Welkner (KS), the Pledge of Allegiance by Brooks Lyles (KS) followed by the Pledge to the SAR by Dale Schmidt (MO). This was followed by a SCD Color Guard Commander change in command ceremony from Frank Rohrbough (TX) to Corey Burns (AR). After dinner, President Brooks Lyles (KS) welcomed the attendees. President General Mike Tomme (GA) provided the keynote address on his initiatives for SAR during his term. President General Tomme then inducted Sean Crider (AR) and his son Charlie Crider (AR) as new members. President General Tomme presented an Aide-de-camp pin to Dennis Nelson (KS) and Cilla Tomme, First Lady, presented the equivalent to Susan Nelson (KS). The benediction was given by Kansas State Chaplain Vern Welkner (KS).

The NSSAR officers in attendance were:

President General – Mike Tomme (GA)

Secretary General – Larry Guzy (GA)

Treasurer General – Warren Alter (AZ)

Registrar General – Russ DeVenney (MO)

Librarian General – Bruce Pickette (AL)

Chancellor General – Davis Wright (DE)

SATURDAY:

A breakfast was held at 7:30 am and completed by 8:30 am.

The South Central District (SCD) meeting was reconvened and called to order at 8:45 am by SCD VPG Les Magee (AR). This was followed by the invocation by Arkansas State Chaplain Robert Miskimen (AR), pledge of allegiance to the flag by Martin Reynolds (OK) and pledge to the SAR by Mike Radcliff (TX).

Previous minutes: M/2 Mike Radcliff (TX)/Peter Grassl (KS) to accept the 2015 minutes.

Passed

Roll call of States:

TX: President Mike Radcliff reported and submitted in writing

KS: President Brooks Lyles reported and submitted in writing

MO: President Dale Schmidt reported

AR: President Corey Burns reported and submitted in writing

OK: President Martin Reynolds reported

Old Business:

Immediate Former VPG Steve Rohrbaugh (TX) reported \$814.45 was donated to NSSAR from the profit from sales of South Central District pins.

New Business:

Steve Rohrbaugh (TX) discussed and handed out Texas CAR Essay Contest

VPG Les Magee (AR) discussed the rules for nominating candidates for endorsement by the SCD.

M/2 Steve Baldwin (MO)/Peter Grassl (KS) that the SCD endorse all announced candidates for General Officer who are not opposed by another announced candidate for the 2017-2018 term. (There were no SAR Foundation Board of Directors for the three year term 2017-2020) as follows:

President General: Larry Guzy (GA) Secretary General: Warren Alter (AZ) Chancellor General: David Wright (DE) Genealogist General: John Sinks (DC) **Registrar General: Contested** Librarian General: Doug Collins (KY) Historian General: Contested Surgeon General: Matthew Barlow M.D. (DE) Chaplain General: Dr. John Wakefield (TN) SAR Foundation Board of Directors: No candidates SAR Foundation Board of Directors: No candidates Passed VPG Les Magee asked for nominations for: **Registrar General:** M/2 Steve Rohrbaugh (TX)/Dale Schmidt (MO): Bruce Pickette (AL) M/2 Bob Capps (KS)/John Beard (TX): Rick Hollis (TN) **Historian General:** M/2 Bob Capps (KS)/ Steve Baldwin (MO): John Thornhill (NC) M/2 Russ Devenney (M)/James Osbourn (MO): Mark Anthony (SC) SCD Secretary Dennis Nelson (KS) read the rules regarding eligible voters from Article 5 of the SCD Constitution summarized as follows: Each current or former National officer from the SCD. President and one other designated such as trustee from the SCD

One vote for each 50 members plus one more if have 25 or more.

Voter must be primary member in SCD.

Result was that Kansas was allowed 19 votes – two for former VPG's, two for trustee and president, and 15 for its 725 members.

With 20 Kansas eligible members present, Dennis Nelson (KS) SCD Secretary relinquished his vote to identify 19 Kansas eligible voters.

VPG Les Magee appointed three tellers Peter Grassl (KS), Steve Rohrbaugh (TX) and George Thompson (OK) and two counters Steve Rohrbough (TX) and Peter Grassl (KS)) to distribute, collect and tally the ballots.

Les Magee VPG read the following endorsements as a result of the balloting:

Registrar General: Tie vote

Historian General: Mark Anthony

M/2 Larry Stevens (TX)/Eugene Smith (AR): Ballots be destroyed.

Passed

M/2 Brooks Lyles (KS)/Russ Devenney (MO): Kansas Society presents Bob Capps, who was selected by the KSSSAR Conference on May 7, 2016 to be the Kansas Compatriot to be nominated by the SCD as its candidate for VPG for the term 2017-2018. Passed

Bill Marrs (TX) presented a program on file share and NSSAR new website.

Brooks Lyles (KS) presented program on Kansas Society's approach to various activities

Brooks Lyles (KS), NSSAR Education Committee Chair presented program on the Youth Protection Program online from Boy Scouts of America.

Brooks Lyles (KS) announced invitation that the next SCD meeting would be in Kansas on 25-26th of August, 2017.

M/2 George Thompson (OK)/Steve Baldwin (MO): accept invitation. Passed.

The following awards were presented by VPG Les Magee:

Brooks Lyles (KS) Meritorious Service Medal

Frank Rohrbough (TX) Meritorious Service Medal

Peter Grassl (KS) Certificate of Appreciation for planning event

David Comer (KS) Certificate of Appreciation for assisting planning the event

Dennis Nelson (KS) SCD Secretary, Certificate of Appreciation

Bill Marrs (TX) Certificate of Appreciation

Steve Rohrbough (TX) Silver Roger Sherman Medal

Mrs. Rohrbough (TX) Lydia Darraugh Medal

The Colors were retired by SCD Color Guard Commander Corey Burns (AR), the SAR Recessional by Robert Miskimen (AR), and the Benediction by Arkansas State Chaplain Robert Miskimen (AR).

The meeting was adjourned at 11:15 am by VPG Les Magee (AR).

Submitted by SCD Secretary Dennis Nelson (KS).