SOUTH CENTRAL DISTRICT OF THE SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING: LITTLE ROCK, AR, AUGUST 28-29, 2015

FRIDAY EVENING OVERVIEW:

A candidate forum was held at 5:00 -6:00 pm. This was followed by a reception at 6:00 pm and a banquet at 7:00 pm. Stephen Rohrbough (TX), VPG SCD, convened the meeting. The presentation of colors was led by SCD Color Guard Commander Frank Rohrbough (TX). The invocation was given by Chaplain General Reverend Dr. James Taylor (TX), the Pledge of Allegiance by Martin Reynolds (OK) followed by the Pledge to the SAR by Robert Corum (MO). After dinner, President General Thomas Lawrence (TX) provided the keynote address on "Change is Coming to the SAR." The benediction was given by Chaplain General Reverend Dr. James Taylor (TX).

The NSSAR officers in attendance were:

President General – Thomas Lawrence (TX)

Treasurer General – Larry Guzy(GA)

Registrar General – Russ DeVenney (MO)

Librarian General – Bruce Pickette (AL)

Chaplain General – Reverend Dr. James Taylor (TX)

SATURDAY:

A breakfast was held at 7:30 am and completed by 8:30 am.

The South Central District (SCD) meeting was reconvened and called to order at 8:45 am by SCD VPG Stephen Rohrbough (TX). This was followed by the invocation by Chaplain General Reverend Dr. James Taylor (TX), pledge of allegiance to the flag by Brooks Lyles (KS) and pledge to the SAR by Larry Stevens (TX). PG Tom Lawrence continued his comments regarding "Change Coming to the SAR".

Previous minutes: M/2 Peter Grassl (KS)/Steve Baldwin (MO) to accept the 2014 minutes.

Passed

Roll call of States:

TX: President Larry Stevens reported and submitted in writing

KS: President Brooks Lyles reported and submitted in writing

MO: President Robert Corum reported

AR: President Corey Burns reported

OK: President Martin Reynolds reported and submitted in writing

Old Business: None

New Business:

VPG Stephen Rohrbough discussed the rules for nominating candidates for endorsement by the SCD.

M/2 Steve Baldwin (MO)/Peter Grassl (KS) that the SCD endorse all announced candidates for General Officer who are not opposed by another announced candidate for the 2016-2017 term and SAR Foundation Board of Directors who are not opposed by another announced candidate for a three year term 2016-2019, as follows:

President General: J. Michael Tomme, Sr. (GA)

Secretary General: Larry Guzy (GA)

Chancellor General: David Wright (DE)

Genealogist General: John Sinks (DC)

Registrar General: Russell DeVenney (MO)

Librarian General: Bruce Pickette (AL)

Historian General: John Manning (NH)

Surgeon General: Dr. Larry Leslie (KY)

Chaplain General: Rev. Louis Carlson (CA)

SAR Foundation Board of Directors: John Dodd (CA)

SAR Foundation Board of Directors: James Engler (MO)

Passed

VPG Stephen Rohrbough asked for nominations for:

Treasurer General:

M/2 Frank Appl (OK)/ Richard O'Connell (AR): Warren Alter (AZ)

M/2 Peter Grassl (KS)/James Jones (TX): Randall Ellis (TX)

VPG Stephen Rohrbough appointed three tellers Peter Grassl (KS), Darrell Hefley (OK) George Thompson (OK) and two counters Steve Baldwin (MO) and Larry Guzy (GA) to distribute, collect and tally the ballots.

Head of Counters committee reported the following endorsements as a result of the balloting:

Treasurer General: Randall Ellis (TX)

M/2 Steve Baldwin (MO)/Russ DeVenney (MO): Ballots be destroyed.

Passed

M/2 Dennis Boyer (AR)/Richard O'Connell (AR): Arkansas Society presents Jerry Montgomery, who was selected by the ARSSAR Conference on March 29, 2015 to be the Arkansas Compatriot to be nominated by the SCD as its candidate for VPG for the term 2016-2017. Passed

Bob Cohen (TX) presented a program on SAR Branding.

VPG Stephen Rohrbough discussed state and SCD pins for SAR branding.

Bill Watts (TX) presented a program on Augmented Reality.

M/2 Peter Grassl (KS)/Russ DeVenney (MO); to have two SCD meetings consecutively in Kansas to allow future VPG's to preside at the SCD meeting in their own state. Passed.

Brooks Lyles (KS) announced invitation that the next SCD meeting would be in Kansas on 26-27th of August, 2016 and another SCD meeting in Kansas in 2017.

M/2 George Thompson (OK)/Steve Baldwin (MO): accept invitation. Passed.

PG Tom Lawrence presented Aide de Camp pin to Eugene Smith (AR)

The following awards were presented by VPG Stephen Rohrbough:

Frank Rohrbough (TX), SCD Color Guard Commander received a Certificate of Appreciation.

Bill Watts (TX) received Certificate of Appreciation.

Dennis Nelson (KS), SCD Secretary, received Certificate of Appreciation.

Dennis Boyer (AR) received the Roger Sherman Medal.

Jerry Montgomery (AR) received the Roger Sherman Medal.

George Thompson (OK) received the Roger Sherman Medal.

Corey Burns (AR) received the Meritorious Service Medal.

Stephen Baldwin (MO) received the VPG Certificate.

The Colors were retired by SCD Color Guard Commander Frank Rohrbough (TX), the SAR Recessional by Corey Burns (AR), and the Benediction by Chaplain General Rev. Dr. James Taylor (TX).

The meeting was adjourned at 11:44 am by VPG Stephen Rohrbough (TX).

Submitted by SCD Secretary Dennis Nelson (KS).