Minutes of the Meeting of the East Fork-Trinity Chapter

TEXAS SOCIETY SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION

March 11, 2010

The March meeting of the East Fork-Trinity Chapter, SAR, was called to order at 7:03 p.m. at the Garland Central Library, (625 Austin St, Garland, TX) by Chapter President Harmon Adair.

Chaplin Walter Thomas opened the meeting with prayer.

Past President Delora Lewis then led the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States flag, President Harmon Adair led the Pledge to the Texas Flag and Compatriot Tom Whitelock led the Pledge to the SAR Flag.

The East Fork-Trinity Chapter January 2010 meeting minutes were approved as posted in the Chapter newsletter 'four 7news'.

Visitors and guest were recognized by the chapter.

President Harmon Adair presented Compatriot William D. Hill with the Ten Year Membership Pin. Bill earned the pin in 2008.

President Harmon Adair addressed the new approved membership of compatriot Andrew Melton. Andrew, a recent graduate of Texas Tech University, had presented his application to the Mesquite Chapter and has not been sworn in. Andrew is currently employed in Lubbock. Compatriot Delora Lewis volunteered to contact the SAR Chapter in Lubbock and forward his membership packet.

Compatriot David Adams was then inducted into membership by District Six Vice President Mark Hansen.

The Americanism was presented by Joyce Adair. She spoke on the Odds and Ends of the American Revolution. Her topics included "Worms Won the War for the patriots"

President Harmon Adair then presented the main Presentation of the day. He spoke about Costal Naval Battles at Yorktown and New York City.

The Chapter then judged the posters presented to the East Fork-Trinity Chapter for presentation at the TXSSAR state poster Contest. Nicholas Moulder from Mrs. Johnson's fifth grade class at Walnut Glean Academy won first place in the Artistic poster contest and Makenna Preville from Mrs. Patti Spillman's fifth grade class at Pullen Elementary won first place in the Poster with research Contest. Both Posters will be judged at the TXSSAR Annual meeting.

The chapter then had the drawing for the door prize.

Compatriot Harmon Adair led the SAR Closing.

The Benediction was presented by Chaplin Walter Thomas.

The meeting was adjourned by President Harmon Adair at 8:00 P. M

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary: Allen Christian

Secretary, East Fork-Trinity Chapter - TXSSAR