Minutes of the Meeting of the Dallas Chapter

TEXAS SOCIETY SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION January 9, 2010

The meeting of the Dallas Chapter, SAR, was called to order at 8:30 AM at the Presbyterian Village North Retirement Community 8600 Skyline Dr, Dallas, Texas by Chapter President Hank Voegtle.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jim Fairbairn. The Pledge to the Texas flag was led by John Guittard. The Pledge to the SAR was led by Hank Voegtle. Singing of the first stanza of America was led by Tracy Pounders. Greeters were Ralph McDowell, Glenn Toal, and Jim Templin.

Chaplin Art Ingalls offered the Invocation. Jim Templin reported that Compatriot Randy Jones was doing better from his illness. Frank Pounders announced that Compatriot Laurie Crapo was facing another surgery and ask for prayers for his speedy recovery.

President Voegtle introduced the guests. Treasurer Bob Spence reported there were six guests and thirty four members present. Compatriot Gary Sisson, creator of the annual Sisson award for the "Hardest Worker in the Chapter", blessed us with attendance. Jokemeister Art Ingalls presented one of his more famous jokes.

1st Vice President Frank Pounders presented the Americanism portion of the meeting titled "Does time Change?" by reading an article from an issue of a 1997 "Minuteman Publication" that parallels the world of today.

Officers Report: Secretary/Color Commander Bob Northcraft reported that Secretary Elect Capt Nick Harper was not present because of a prior schedule commitment. Northcraft also reported the Dallas Color Guard had won first place in the Patriot category at the Dallas Veterans Day Parade November 11, 2009. He also reported that the Armed Forces Bowl game/event was a roaring success and that the event

has the potential to be a great recruiting venue for all North Texas Chapters. President Voegtle reported on the "Wreath across America" for Veteran's graves and the possibility of having a greater footprint in 2010. Treasurer Bob Spence reported as of December 31, 2009 the following account balances: Ritchie Fund \$30,173.49, Minuteman Fund \$8,550.95 and the chapter Checking account \$1,786.00. Registrar John Guittard conducted a New Member Induction ceremony for Howard QL Little.

Guittard also reported he had five new applications pending and one supplemental application that had been approved for FPC Ralph McDowell.

2nd Vice President David Temple reported he had several Certificates' and medals' to award.:

1) Color Guard Awards

Bronze Medal Laurie Crapo Bronze Medal Bob Northcraft

- 2) SAR Medal of Appreciation Kim Clark
- 3) Chapter Awards: Service to Veterans Award Jim Fairbairn Grady Fairbairn

4) Meritorious Service Medal

First Vice President – Frank Pounders Second Vice President – David Temple Secretary – Bob Northcraft Head Greeter – Ralph McDowell (bronze oak leaf cluster) Webmaster – Charles Baker (bronze oak leaf cluster) Eagle Scout and Essay Chair – Mark Hansen (bronze oak leaf cluster)

6) Perfect Attendance Award

Ralph McDowell – 16 Years Frank Pounders – 1 Year

7) Bronze Chapter Service Award

Treasurer – Bob Spence Registrar – John Guittard Veteran Affairs Co-Chair – Jim Fairbairn (bronze oak leaf cluster) Veteran Affairs Co-Chair – Grady Fairbairn (bronze oak leaf cluster) Historian – George Monroe Looney Poster Contest Chair– John Morton Rumbaugh Oratory Contest Chair– Don Hatch

8) Certificate of Appreciation

SAR Essay Contest – Robert Kittrell

Color Guard Commander Bob Northcraft awarded Certificates' of Appreciation to twenty six Color Guardsmen that had participated in CG events in 2009. He also awarded the newly created, Color Guard Commander Award to FCP Charles Baker, Laurie Crapo and FCP Tom Whitelock for their exceptional participation in CG events during 2009. The CG summary for 2009, **collectively**, was 168 events attended by twenty six CG members.

Winner of the Sisson Sledgehammer award for 2008 Bob Northcraft called all previous winners of the award to come forward to celebrate the winner for 2009. Congratulations' were given to David Temple the winner for his hard work and time he gave to the Chapter in 2009.

President Voegtle awarded the Brett Favre, "Yes I am Retired" certificate to FCP Tom Whitelock for all the time's he has said he is retired from Chapter activity.

As his final act of Office President Voegtle presented a copy of the book, "We are Americans, We are Scouts", written by Chapter member David C. Scott to all chapter Officers and Committee Chairs for their assistance in making the year go smoothly.

The installment ceremony of new Chapter Officers for 2010 was conducted by FCP Col E. Graham Martin, Jr.

President 1 st Vice President 2 nd Vice President Secretary Treasurer Registrar	Frank H. Pounders David J. Temple Robert "Bob" Northcraft Capt Nick Harper (Not Present) James M. Fairbairn John R. Guittard
Historian	Dr. George A. Monroe
Chaplin	Arthur B. Ingalls
Other Appointees Recognized:	
Head Greeter	Ralph L. McDowell
Newsletter editor/Webmaster	Dr H. Charles Baker
Color Guard Commander	Robert "Bob" Northcraft
Note: Capt Nick Harper will be sworn into office during the February Chapter meeting.	

Newly elected Chapter President Frank Pounders presented FCP Hank Voegtle with the past President plaque and gavel. FCP Voegtle presented President Pounders with the SAR medal of office.

Treasurer Bob Spence conducted the door prize drawing. Newly elected President Pounders offered his theme for the coming year for Chapter members to strive, "To be a force for Freedoms future".

Chaplin Art Ingalls gave the benediction and the SAR recessional was led by FCP Voegtle.

Meeting was adjourned at 10:10 AM.

Respectfully submitted:

Robert "Bob" Northcraft Secretary, Dallas #2 Chapter SAR