Minutes of the Meeting of the Dallas Chapter

TEXAS SOCIETY SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION

December 13, 2008

The meeting of the Dallas Chapter, SAR, was called to order at 8:30 a.m. at the Highland Park Cafeteria, (Casa Linda Plaza, Dallas, Texas) by Chapter President, Robert Clark. Members had processed through the breakfast line.

Chaplain Art Ingalls reported there were no sick members and then gave the Invocation for the day.

Dallas Fire Chief Eddie Burns, Sr. led the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag. FCP Tom Smith led the Pledge to the Texas Flag, and Chapter President Bob Clark led the Salute to the SAR Flag. Second Vice President Frank Pounders then led the Chapter in a chorus of "America."

FCP and Head Greeter Ralph McDowell introduced the meeting's greeters, Frank Pounders and Dr. George Monroe. A total of 9 guests were acknowledged.

Jokemeister and FCP Art Ingalls entertained the attendees with a humorous story.

The Minutes of the November 28, 2008 Meeting created by Secretary David Temple were approved as posted on the web site.

Treasurer Bob Spence reported that 29 members and 9 guests were in attendance for a total of 38. He also reported a balance of \$2,008.38 in the Chapter checking account, \$8,406.61 in the Minuteman Fund and \$30,000 in the Ritchie Fund.

FCP Ralph McDowell reported on the Chapter's plan for a Dues Committee to contact members who have not yet paid their 2009 dues. He requested nine volunteers to assist him in that effort.

Newsletter Editor and FCP Charles Baker reminded everyone the deadline for the January/February newsletter is 10 days after the January 2009 meeting, and that the deadline for each newsletter is 10 days after the meeting prior to the issue date.

Chapter Registrar Al Sloan reported the chapter had 291 active members with 65 who have not yet paid their dues for 2009 (including dual members).

There was no old business brought forth.

Under new business Chapter President Clark raised the Election of new chapter officers. A motion was made by compatriot John Morton to elect the slate of officers proposed at the November 2008 meeting. The motion was seconded by several compatriots. The membership then unanimously elected the following:

Presidenet Henry "Hank" J. Voegtle, III

1st Vice President (Programs) Frank H. Pounders 2nd Vice President (Awards) David J. Temple

Secretary Robert "Bob" D. Northcraft
Treasurer Robert "Bob" J. Spence
Registrar Robert W. Tanner, Jr.
Historian Dr. George A. Monroe
Chaplain Arthur "Art" Ingalls

First Vice President Hank Voegtle then presented the following awards: the Law Enforcement Commendation was presented to Dallas Police Senior Corporal Reed Higgins with Commander G. P. Summers in attendance; the Fire Safety Commendation was presented to Captain David L. Smith with Dallas Fire Chief Eddie Burns, Sr. in attendance; and the Emergency Medical Service Commendation was presented to Dallas Fire-Rescue Paramedic/Driver Ayman Ghousheh with Chief Burns and Mr. Ghousheh's wife and daughter in attendance.

Hank then introduced FCP Charles Baker who gave The Americanism Presentation on U.S. Vexillology, or "How We Got Our Flag." The scheduled main speaker, U. S. Congressman Jeb Hensarling, was unable to attend due to the Congressional debate of the financial bailout plan requiring his presence in Washington, D.C.

Treasurer Bob Spence then conducted the door prize drawings, Chaplain Art Ingalls gave the Benediction and President Clark led the SAR Recessional.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David Temple Secretary Dallas Chapter, TXSSAR