Minutes of the Meeting of the Dallas Chapter

TEXAS SOCIETY SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION

January 13, 2007

The meeting of the Dallas Chapter, SAR, was called to order at 8:32 a.m. in the Mesquite Room at the Embassy Suites, (13131 North Central Expressway, Dallas, Texas) by Chapter President, Tom Smith. Most members had previously processed through the breakfast line.

Chaplain Frank Pounders reported that Compatriots Henry (Hank) Goldwire was doing well and had returned home from the hospital. The Chaplain then proceeded to give the Invocation for the day.

Compatriot and future District VI Vice President Mark Hansen led the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag, District VI Vice President Tom Whitelock led the Pledge to the Texas Flag, and President General Nathan White led the Pledge to the SAR Flag. Chapter President Tom Smith led the members in the singing of "America."

Past Chapter President and Head Greeter Ralph McDowell introduced and thanked our Greeter, Compatriot Dr. George Monroe.

Guests and prospective members attending the meeting were introduced.

President Smith presented a two dollar bill to CAR member Alex Pounders, son of Past Chapter President Tracy Pounders.

Past Chapter President Art Ingalls shared a humorous story with the chapter.

District VI Vice President Tom Whitelock introduced Harmon Adair, the new President of the East-Fork Trinity Chapter of the SAR. He then shared that Lanny Shaw, the current President of the Mesquite Chapter has resigned because of illness concerns and that the position would be filled in the near future.

Second Vice President Bob Clark reported that Judge John Marshall would present the program for the February 2007 Dallas Chapter meeting. His presentation will be "Yorktown & San Jacinto: A Study in Success".

Chapter Secretary, Allen Christian, read the minutes of the December, 2006 chapter meeting. A motion to accept the reading of the minutes was made by Past President Art Ingalls and seconded by Compatriot John Morton. The minutes (as posted by Chapter Secretary, Allen Christian, on the Chapter's website and read to the membership) were approved by voice vote.

Treasurer Byron Christian reported that 28 members and 10 guests were in attendance. He also reported that the Chapter's checking account balance was \$902.78, the Minuteman Fund had a balance of \$8,434.68, and the Richie Fund balance was \$28,174.54.

Registrar Jim Templin reported that the Dallas Chapter currently has 303 active members, with 16 applications in the pipeline to NSSAR for acceptance and pending approval.

Past President Ralph McDowell reported that by using shopping cards sponsored by Tom Thumb and Kroger, the membership had earned over \$466 during the year and he then presented a check from Tom Thumb of \$43.61 to Chapter Treasurer Byron Christian. This amount will be added to the chapter's checking account.

First Vice President Charles Baker reported that the SAR marching unit, including the Color Guard, trailer, Liberty bell and Cannon had been awarded third place for it's participation during the Dallas Veterans Day Parade. He then suggested an idea for a future float which would be in the form of Washington's boat. It was decided to discuss this idea in more detail during the February Chapter meeting. Dr. Baker then thanked Montye Whitelock, wife of District VI Vice President Tom Whitelock for her years of participation in preparing and mailing the chapter newsletter, "The Minuteman."

First Vice President Charles Baker then presented the speaker of the day, Judge Nathan White, President General of the NSSAR. President General White discussed the "State of the SAR Foundation".

Compatriot Bill Richardson informed the membership that Compatriot Henry Voegtle III had been honored by the Boy Scouts of America for his participation in scouting. Compatriot Voegtle has been presented the coveted Silver Beaver Award.

President Tom Smith presented Certificates for Perfect Attendance to Compatriots Bill Barnard, Byron Christian, Bert Huls, Tracy Pounders, Cliff Slagle, Bob Spence, Tom Whitelock (7 consecutive years) and Ralph McDowell (13 consecutive years). President Tom Smith also had perfect attendance.

President Tom Smith presented Certificates of Appreciation to the following:

First Vice President:

Second Vice President:

Secretary

Treasurer:

Dr. H. Charles Baker

Robert M. Clark Jr.

Dr. Allen L. Christian, Sr.

Charles Byron Christian

Registrar: Jim Templin Historian: Dwight A. Sharpe Chaplain: Frank H. Pounders Veterans Affairs Co-Chairman: Grady Fairbairn Jim Fairbairn Veterans Affairs Co-Chairman: DAR Liaison: Jack Carney CAR Liaison: Tracy Pounders Ralph McDowell Head Greeter: Essay Contest Chairman: Mark Hansen Poster Contest Chairman: John Morton Post Mistress: Montye Whitelock

President Tom Smith presented Texas Society Chapter Service Medals and Certificates to: Past President Cliff Slagle, Past President Ralph McDowell, Past President Graham Martin and Past President Gary Sisson.

Past President and District VI Vice President Tom Whitelock presented the Gary Sisson Golden Sledge Hammer Award to Registrar James Templin as the "Hardest Working Member of the Dallas Chapter."

President General Nathan White installed the new Dallas Chapter Officers for 2007. They were:

Dr. H. Charles Baker President: 1st Vice President Robert M. Clark Jr. 2nd Vice President Dr. Allen L. Christian, Sr. Secretary Charles Byron Christian Treasurer Henry J. Voegtle, III Registrar Gerald W. Irion Historian Dwight A. Sharpe Chaplain Frank H. Pounders

Past President Tom Smith presented new President Charles Baker with the President's Neck Ribbon signifying his new office. Present Charles Baker then presented Past President Tom Smith with a wall plaque containing a gavel as a token of appreciation for his service as president during 2006, and he presented a Past Chapter President's Neck Ribbon.

After Treasurer Henry Voegtle presided over the door prize drawings, the Benediction was given by Chaplain Frank Pounders, followed by the SAR Closing led by President Baker, who adjourned the meeting at 10:11 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Dr. Allen L. Christian Past Secretary, Dallas Chapter-TXSSAR